The department of Philosophy was established in the year 1938. The department conducts three(3) year degree honours course in Philosophy. This course is also taken as an elective paper by the students of other streams. The course is in demand by students, who plan their career especially in Civil Services.
Dr. Morning Lyngdoh, Head
Publications : 13 (National: 4, International: 9)
Research Interest: Ethics and religion
Dr. Alpana Chakraborty, Associate Professor
Research Interest: Indian and western philosophy
Dr. Grace Zirsangliani, Assistant Professor
Research Interest: Culture and religion
Ambrose Dohtdong, Assistant Professor
Research Interest: Moral philosophy